top of page
  • Cleckheaton Methodist Church

Friday 10th April— Good Friday

Take time to be quiet, perhaps light a candle.

Be still and know that I am God

Let us pray

Loving God, be with us as we join in fellowship in our own homes. Open our hearts to awesomeness of your love, made real for us through Christ’s sacrifice on the cross. May we never lose the wonder of the cross. Amen.


Hymn verse

And love that freely entered

The pit of life’s despair,

Can name our hidden darkness And suffer with us there.

Words from the cross

“Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.”

(Luke 23: 46)


Today is the day when we remember that Jesus gave up his life for our sakes. Fully human, fully divine—perfect in every way. And yet he willingly took all the sin of the world into the darkest pit of despair. And he did that for you, for me and for everyone.

Just think about that.

We hear how, during some of the terror attacks, parents have laid across their children to protect them from the attack—and some have died as a result.

Would you do that for your loved ones?

Would you do that for people who didn’t love you?

How would you feel if you had been the one protected from the attack? What would you want to say to your saviour? What would you be prepared to do for them?

Our only response to Christ’s sacrifice and to the love of God which allowed his son to be sacrificed in that way is to offer our lives completely to him. Father, into your hands, I commend my spirit, my life.


Spend time in silence, taking yourself slowly through the 14 Stages of the Cross, and re-living Christ’s journey to death. Death for your sake.

Not all the stages are based on scripture (most are), but they paint a vivid picture of what Jesus must have gone through on Good Friday.

Pause after each stage and take time to reflect.

  1. Jesus is condemned to death

  2. Jesus carries his cross

  3. Jesus falls for the first time

  4. Jesus comforts his mother

  5. Simon helps Jesus carry his cross

  6. A woman offers comfort to Jesus

  7. Jesus falls a second time

  8. Jesus meets and comforts the women of Jerusalem

  9. Jesus falls a third time

  10. Jesus is stripped of his clothes

  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross

  12. Jesus dies on the cross

  13. Jesus is taken down from the cross

  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb.

Let us pray—a personal prayer

Christ, my Saviour,

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking this lonely and frightening journey of suffering to the grave; all for my sake. Help me always to remember the power of the cross; that I can stand at its foot, fully forgiven and completely whole.

May your Spirit show me the ways I can offer my life, as you offered yours, in full obedience to God.

Through you, Christ Jesus, I offer my prayer.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page